Brand Hong Kong
GovHK 繁體版 简体版 Search Search Site map Contact us
Font Size: Default Size Font Size: Larger Font Size: Largest
RSS
5 September 2017
Antimicrobial Resistance  

Hong Kong Strategy and Action Plan on Antimicrobial Resistance
 
Antimicrobial resistance (AMR) happens when microorganisms, such as bacteria, fungi, viruses and parasites, resist previously effective antimicrobials. It is considered one of the greatest threats to global health and economy.
 
Antibiotics are medications used for treating bacterial infection. When antibiotics wipe out disease-causing bacteria in our body, normal bacteria are also killed, thereby increasing the opportunity for resistant bacteria to grow and multiply. These resistant bacteria are sometimes referred to as ‘superbugs’. Some superbugs are capable of resisting more than one antibiotic and such infections are difficult to treat. Although there may be alternative antibiotics available, they may be less effective or cause more side effects. If the problem of AMR does not improve, there would be fewer effective treatment options.
 
In view of the threat of AMR to global public health, the Government announced in the 2016 Policy Address to set up a High Level Steering Committee on AMR (HLSC) to formulate strategies and implement actions. Chaired by the Secretary for Food and Health, HLSC comprises representatives from relevant Government departments, public and private hospitals, healthcare organisations, academia and relevant professional bodies. Under a One Health framework, the HLSC has considered the recommendations proposed by the Expert Committee on AMR and has taken human health, animal health and environment fronts into consideration in formulating the holistic Hong Kong Strategy and Action Plan on Antimicrobial Resistance (2017-2022)  (Action Plan).
 
To address the issue, actions taken by the healthcare sector alone are not enough and concerted efforts from the general public are crucial.
 
What I can do to combat AMR? 

 
Practise frequent hand hygiene, especially before eating and taking medicine, and after going to toilet Do not demand antibiotics from your doctor Follow your doctor's advice when taking antibiotics
Practise frequent hand hygiene,
especially before eating
and taking medicine,
and after going to the toilet

Do not demand antibiotics
from your doctor

Follow your doctor’s advice
when taking antibiotics
 
Do not stop taking antibiotics by yourselves even if you are feeling better Ensure that vaccinations of you and your family members are up-to-date Maintain cough etiquette, wear a mask if you have respiratory infection symptoms
Do not stop taking antibiotics
by yourselves 
even if
you are feeling better
Ensure that vaccinations of you and your family members are up-to-date

Maintain cough etiquette, wear a mask if you have respiratory symptoms

 

Details

 

Strategic Framework

The World Health Organization (WHO) and WHO Regional Office for Western Pacific issued the ‘Global Action Plan on AMR’ and the ‘Action Agenda for AMR in Western Pacific Region’ respectively in 2015. Both documents emphasized the importance of adopting the One Health framework in formulating and implementing strategies to combat AMR.

The One Health concept stresses that the rising threat of AMR should be addressed by a comprehensive framework adopting a mutli-sectoral and whole-of-society approach. It calls for collaborative actions to be taken by different sectors, including human and veterinary medicine, agriculture, food, environment, pharmaceutical industry and consumers.

In view of the threat of AMR to global public health, the Government announced in the 2016 Policy Address to set up a High Level Steering Committee on AMR (HLSC) to formulate strategies and implement actions. Chaired by the Secretary for Food and Health, HLSC comprises representatives from relevant Government departments, public and private hospitals, healthcare organisations, academia and relevant professional bodies. Under a One Health framework, the HLSC has considered the recommendations proposed by the Expert Committee on AMR and has taken human health, animal health and environment fronts into consideration in formulating the holistic Hong Kong Strategy and Action Plan on Antimicrobial Resistance (2017-2022)  (Action Plan), which proposed recommendations in six key areas as follows:

  1. Strengthen knowledge through surveillance and research;
  2. Optimise use of antimicrobials in humans and animals;
  3. Reduce incidence of infection through effective sanitation, hygiene and preventive measures;
  4. Improve awareness and understanding of AMR through effective communication, education and training;
  5. Promote research on AMR; and
  6. Strengthen partnerships and foster engagement of relevant stakeholders.
 

About Antimicrobial Resistance

 

For General Public

 

For Healthcare Workers

  • What can health care workers do to combat AMR?
    • Only prescribe antibiotics when they are needed
    • Perform good infection control measures, practise frequent hand hygiene
    • Remind patients to take antibiotics at the right time and with the right dose
    • Remind patients to maintain personal hygiene
    • Receive seasonal influenza vaccine
  • Guidelines and Resources
  • 'I-pledge' online registration for responsible use of antibiotics
 

Publications

 

Press Releases

 

Activities to Combat AMR

 

Health Education Materials

 

Printer Friendly Printer Friendly
Top   Top
 
Explanation of WCAG 2.0 Level Double-A Conformance

香港品牌
GovHK 香港政府一站通 English 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
字型大小: 原設定 字型大小: 較大 字型大小: 最大
RSS
2017年11月9日
抗菌素耐藥性  

香港抗菌素耐藥性策略及行動計劃
 
抗菌素耐藥性指抗菌素未能有效抑制或殺死致病微生物 (如細菌、真菌、病毒、寄生蟲等),是當今全球公共衞生,以至世界經濟的一大威脅。
 
抗生素是用作治療細菌感染的藥物。抗生素雖能殺滅致病細菌,亦能殺死體內正常細菌,令耐藥性細菌滋生的風險增加。這些耐藥性細菌有時稱作「超級細菌」,部分更能抵禦多類常用抗生素,引致難以治療的感染。雖然現時仍可使用其他非常規抗生素治療,但其效能可能較弱或會引起較多副作用。當耐藥性問題不獲改善,有效的治療方案即愈趨減少。
 
鑑於抗菌素耐藥性對全球公共衞生造成威脅,政府在《2016年施政報告》中,宣布成立抗菌素耐藥性高層督導委員會(高層督導委員會)。高層督導委員會由食物及衞生局局長擔任主席,成員來自政府相關部門、公私營醫院、醫療和護理組織、學術界,以及相關專業團體。在「一體化健康」框架下,高層督導委員會考慮了轄下抗菌素耐藥性專家委員會的專家建議並從考慮了人類健康、動物健康,以至環境等不同領域,制訂了整全的《香港抗菌素耐藥性策略及行動計劃(2017-2022) 》
 
要解決抗菌素耐藥問題,單憑醫護界作出行動並不足夠,廣大市民還須群策群力。
 
我可做什麼來對抗抗菌素耐藥性?
 
時刻保持手部衞生, 尤其在進食前、服藥前和如廁後要潔手 不要向醫生要求抗生素 遵照醫生的建議使用抗生素
時刻保持手部衞生,
尤其在進食前、服藥前和
如廁後要潔手

不要向醫生要求抗生素

遵照醫生的建議
使用抗生素
 
即使病情轉好也不要自行停用抗生素 按時為你和家人接種疫苗 保持咳嗽禮儀, ​當有呼吸道感染症狀時,應戴上口罩
即使病情轉好
也不要自行停用抗生素
按時為你和家人接種疫苗
保持咳嗽禮儀,
當有呼吸道感染症狀時,應戴上口罩

 

詳情

 

策略框架

世界衞生組織(世衞)及世衞西太平洋區域辦事處於2015年分別發表《抗菌素耐藥性全球行動計劃》及《西太平洋區域抗菌素耐藥性行動綱領》。兩份文件均強調各地在「一體化健康」框架下,制定和落實政策以應對細菌耐藥問題甚為重要。
 
「一體化健康」概念強調透過跨界別和動員整個社會的整合策略,來應對日益嚴重的抗菌素耐藥問題,它呼籲從事醫學及獸醫學、農業、食品、環境及藥劑業等業界人士,以及消費者均須同心協力採取行動。
 
鑑於抗菌素耐藥性對全球公共衞生造成威脅,政府在《2016年施政報告》中,宣布成立抗菌素耐藥性高層督導委員會(高層督導委員會)。高層督導委員會由食物及衞生局局長擔任主席,成員來自政府相關部門、公私營醫院、醫療和護理組織、學術界,以及相關專業團體。在「一體化健康」框架下,高層督導委員會考慮了轄下抗菌素耐藥性專家委員會的專家建議並從考慮了人類健康、動物健康,以至環境等不同領域,制訂了整全的《香港抗菌素耐藥性策略及行動計劃(2017-2022) 》,所提出的建議涵蓋以下六大範疇: 
 
  1. 透過監測和研究增強知識;
  2. 完善抗菌素在人類和動物身上的使用; 
  3. 透過有效的環衞設施、衞生和感染預防措施減低感染率; 
  4. 透過有效的宣傳教育和培訓提高大眾對抗菌素耐藥性的認知和理解; 
  5. 促進抗菌素耐藥性的相關研究;和 
  6. 加強伙伴關係和鼓勵相關持份者參與。
 

有關抗菌素耐藥性

 

給大眾市民

 

給醫護人員

 

刊物

 

新聞稿

 

應對抗菌素耐藥性的活動

 

健康教育資源

 

友善列印 友善列印
頁首   頁首
 
2A無障礙說明